Interdisciplinary OEE theory?

I’m an economic theorist (and economics sorely needs better theory) but I collaborate with theoretical biologists, computer scientists, physicists and mathematicians on my OEE -adjacent work. I think what I’m eager for right now is the development of a general interdisciplinary OEE theory. I do see this happening to some extent in the lit: I’m thinking in particular of Banzhaf et al 2016 (Defining and Simulating Open-ended Novelty). I would love more of this, and to be part of developing more of this.

What are your favorite interdisciplinary formal or foundational interdisciplinary OEE papers?

What kind of interdisciplinary lit on OEE is still in the adjacent possible–what are the big issues you think need to be addressed next?

1 Like

Hello!
I am currently doing a PhD in mathematics, but my background is in economics. My thesis is hopefully making a connection between financial markets and OEE!
I have not found many papers in the perspective you mention, a lot of OEE papers seem more related to games or artificial worlds contexts. I am very happy to follow this discussion to extend OEE to more interdisciplinary formats and to see if some have references on this.
One point I have found a bit confusing is the notion of permanent generaiton of complexity/novelty in the meta-model. If we think about financial markets, perhaps there are different ways of trading goods, perhaps there are different ways to have money, but does OEE entail that the system may become money-less in some way in the future? If we remain in a money-based system, do we have OEE?

1 Like